DJ SPACE: Music Reviews, DJ Blogs......CHAT WITH A DJ! http://kvnf.org en Alela Diane // About Farewell http://kvnf.org/post/alela-diane-about-farewell <p><em>"I caught a plane to Denver - your eyes had turned to stone."</em></p><p>The opening track for <a href="http://www.aleladiane.com/">Alela Diane’s</a> fifth full-length, About Farewell, is a farewell. A winter’s-gone-by reminiscence of you thinking about her, leaving me in the snow, the sort of melancholy low-lit melody that fans of Diane’s early work are bound to praise as a return to roots, a coming full circle. But this record’s plain-stated heartache is anything but a rekindling of old flames and reliable fingerpicking.</p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 22:49:44 +0000 Travis Bubenik 14977 at http://kvnf.org Alela Diane // About Farewell The Yawpers // Capon Crusade http://kvnf.org/post/yawpers-capon-crusade <p></p> Thu, 28 Feb 2013 20:48:49 +0000 Bill Powers 7136 at http://kvnf.org The Yawpers // Capon Crusade KVNF Soul Train Dance Party http://kvnf.org/post/kvnf-soul-train-dance-party <p>It was a Thursday night in January. Bitter cold. Dark and dreary.</p><p>But the KVNF Community Room was rockin! &nbsp;DJs and friends gathered to shake their booties together. The Talmage Lounge, another fine example of KVNF&nbsp;hospitality, not to mention a premium <a href="http://www.kvnf.org/give">benefit of KVNF membership</a>.</p><p>If you missed it- don't worry, it will happen again soon.... and ... we have a video.</p><p><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2R6R53lgps">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2R6R53lgps</a></p> Tue, 22 Jan 2013 00:10:22 +0000 Christy Eller 5505 at http://kvnf.org Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) // Locked Down http://kvnf.org/post/album-review-dr-john-mac-rebennack-locked-down <p>Released 2012 Nonesuch Records</p><p>Welcome to the swamp! The last of the Trichnologists (it’s in the left hand) is back with an amazing album, filled with voodoo, revolutionary politics, religion, and chants.&nbsp; Thu, 20 Dec 2012 04:02:11 +0000 Mike "Dr. Mikey (and his vinyl psyche)" Malone 4326 at http://kvnf.org Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) // Locked Down Celebrating North Fork Musicians http://kvnf.org/post/celebrating-north-fork-musicians <p>Enjoy this incredible compilation show featuring local musicians from the North Fork Valley, some live in the studio! Tue, 18 Dec 2012 02:23:01 +0000 Dj Smyth 4222 at http://kvnf.org Celebrating North Fork Musicians Wax Tailor // Dusty Rainbow From The Dark http://kvnf.org/post/wax-tailor-dusty-rainbow-dark <p>Released 09.18.2012 Le Plan Records</p><p>Wax Tailor could arguably be one of the best and most under rated DJ’s around.&nbsp;&nbsp; This complex and genius concept album demands your attention as it winds you up and draws you into its bad ass breaks and grooves.&nbsp; Sit down in a dark room and listen to this one by yourself!</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:09:51 +0000 The KVNF Knitting Society 3952 at http://kvnf.org Wax Tailor // Dusty Rainbow From The Dark Skipping Girl Vinegar // Keep Calm Carry The Monkey http://kvnf.org/post/skipping-girl-vinegar-keep-calm-carry-monkey <p>Released</p><p>Don’t let the name of the band fool you – this is a sweet album!&nbsp;&nbsp; Full of surprises with sounds reminiscent of Joy Division and The Avett Brothers.&nbsp; Put this CD on and listen to great music – from end to end.</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 22:40:11 +0000 The KVNF Knitting Society 3946 at http://kvnf.org Skipping Girl Vinegar // Keep Calm Carry The Monkey The Heavy // The Glorious Dead http://kvnf.org/post/heavy-glorious-dead <p>Released 8/21/2012&nbsp; Counter Records</p><p>Rock &amp; Roll album of the year?&nbsp;&nbsp; The Heavy lay down a driving intensity in this CD&nbsp; - with multiple layers of rock and roll.&nbsp;&nbsp; Undercurrent vibes from Jack White, Led Zeppelin, The Black Keys and others as the album explodes with creativity.&nbsp;&nbsp; It’s funky, punky, jazzy, and makes me wanna ROCK &amp; ROLL!</p><p></p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 22:33:00 +0000 The KVNF Knitting Society 3945 at http://kvnf.org The Heavy // The Glorious Dead Led Zeppelin// "Celebration Day" http://kvnf.org/post/led-zeppelin-celebration-day <p></p><p>Released 11/19/12 by Atlantic Records</p><p>Do you like Led Zeppelin? If so, you will love this live recording. Just remember, this is&nbsp;LZ, so turn it up!&nbsp;&nbsp;"Celebration Day" is a tribute to&nbsp;Ahmet&nbsp;Ertegun, one of the movers and shakers of the music world for over half a century, and this recording is likely the last time&nbsp;LZ&nbsp;will play. Who knows?</p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 04:26:42 +0000 Mike "Dr. Mikey (and his vinyl psyche)" Malone 3903 at http://kvnf.org Led Zeppelin// "Celebration Day" Aimee Mann // Charmer http://kvnf.org/post/aimee-mann-charmer <p>Released&nbsp; 09/18/12&nbsp; Superego Records</p><p>I have been a huge fan of Aimee since her album “I’m With Stupid,” As a lyricist and musician, she is a national treasure. Her live shows are always wonderful. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 00:25:06 +0000 Dr Mikey 3351 at http://kvnf.org Aimee Mann // Charmer