Capitol Coverage http://kvnf.org en Colorado Democrats Strike Down Background Check Repeal http://kvnf.org/post/colorado-democrats-strike-down-background-check-repeal The gun debate that riveted the state capitol in 2013, once again took center stage Monday. Fewer people came to the capitol to testify on a key gun bill than the last round, but emotions were still strong.<p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 21:58:51 +0000 Bente Birkeland 21858 at http://kvnf.org Colorado Democrats Strike Down Background Check Repeal Later Bar Hours On Tap At The Colorado Capitol http://kvnf.org/post/later-bar-hours-tap-colorado-capitol Could closing time change for your local watering hole? That's a statehouse proposal under consideration, allowing Colorado communities to decide whether to extend bar hours. Some feel a change to the law could do more harm than good.<p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 16:54:54 +0000 Bente Birkeland 21638 at http://kvnf.org Later Bar Hours On Tap At The Colorado Capitol Aggressive Proposals Aside, Colorado Legislature Still Looks To Address Wildfires http://kvnf.org/post/aggressive-proposals-aside-colorado-legislature-still-looks-address-wildfires Helping prevent and fight wildfires is one of the top priorities for Colorado lawmakers in both parties this session, but so far they’re only proposing minor policy changes.<p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 20:53:17 +0000 Bente Birkeland 21457 at http://kvnf.org Aggressive Proposals Aside, Colorado Legislature Still Looks To Address Wildfires Colorado Legislature Opens 2014 With A Call For Collaboration Rather Than Confrontation http://kvnf.org/post/colorado-legislature-opens-2014-call-collaboration-rather-confrontation As the 2014 legislative session opened Wednesday, newly elected state Senate President Morgan Carroll (D-Aurora) – the second woman to hold the position – urged lawmakers to problem solve and skip the shouting matches in her opening day speech.<p> Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:08:00 +0000 Bente Birkeland 20772 at http://kvnf.org Colorado Legislature Opens 2014 With A Call For Collaboration Rather Than Confrontation A Look Ahead At The Upcoming Legislative Session http://kvnf.org/post/look-ahead-upcoming-legislative-session <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px;">Going into the 2014 legislative session, Colorado Democrats are still in the majority at the capitol. With an election year looming, party leaders – including Senate President-elect Morgan Carroll – say they want to focus on creating more jobs.</span></p><p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 21:04:12 +0000 Bente Birkeland 20415 at http://kvnf.org A Look Ahead At The Upcoming Legislative Session Colorado's Growth, Employment Positive Heading Into 2014 http://kvnf.org/post/colorados-growth-employment-positive-heading-2014 There’s good news for Colorado’s economy going into 2014, the latest economic forecast is projecting solid growth. The state’s employment rate also continues to grow faster than the nation’s.<p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 00:20:15 +0000 Bente Birkeland 20172 at http://kvnf.org Colorado's Growth, Employment Positive Heading Into 2014 Hickenlooper Speaks To 2014 Legislative Agenda http://kvnf.org/post/hickenlooper-speaks-2014-legislative-agenda Governor John Hickenlooper says he wants to focus on jobs, the economy and non-partisan issues during the next legislative session. As he outlined his agenda Thursday, his biggest hope is that politics will take a back seat.<p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 13:09:00 +0000 Bente Birkeland 20103 at http://kvnf.org Hickenlooper Speaks To 2014 Legislative Agenda Following Arapahoe, Lawmakers Reflect On Gun Laws http://kvnf.org/post/following-arapahoe-lawmakers-reflect-gun-laws Once again, Colorado lawmakers are heading into a legislative session following a school shooting.<p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 16:14:00 +0000 Bente Birkeland 20073 at http://kvnf.org Following Arapahoe, Lawmakers Reflect On Gun Laws Colorado Approves Stronger Oil And Gas Spill Reporting http://kvnf.org/post/colorado-approves-stronger-oil-and-gas-spill-reporting Colorado is beefing up requirements for reporting oil and gas spills. The new rule would require energy companies to report spills that are over 1 barrel or 42 gallons.<p> Wed, 18 Dec 2013 15:47:46 +0000 Bente Birkeland 19994 at http://kvnf.org Colorado Approves Stronger Oil And Gas Spill Reporting Following A Turbulent Year, Colorado Lawmakers Unsure What 2014 Holds http://kvnf.org/post/following-turbulent-year-colorado-lawmakers-unsure-what-2014-holds When Colorado lawmakers return in January, the makeup of the state Senate will be different. Coming off a tumultuous off session with two first-ever recalls and a resignation can do that. The state’s Democrats now have a new Senate President and only a one-seat hold on the majority.<p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 16:55:34 +0000 Bente Birkeland 19799 at http://kvnf.org Following A Turbulent Year, Colorado Lawmakers Unsure What 2014 Holds