Latino USA http://kvnf.org en Juana Molina http://kvnf.org/post/juana-molina Argentinian singer-songwriter Juana Molina performs and talks with Maria Hinojosa and Soundcheck's John Schaefer about leaving acting for a music career. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:26:00 +0000 editor 29023 at http://kvnf.org Labyrinth Theater Company http://kvnf.org/post/labyrinth-theater-company We hear a little more music from La Mecánica Popular, and Soundcheck's John Schaefer and Maria Hinojosa speak with members of the Labyrinth Theater Company about diversity in New York theater. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:26:00 +0000 editor 29024 at http://kvnf.org La Mecánica Popular http://kvnf.org/post/la-mec-nica-popular Our live edition with WNYC's Soundcheck kicks off with a performance and interview by psychedelic salsa band La Mecánica Popular. Soundcheck's John Schaefer co-hosts. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 21:26:00 +0000 editor 29025 at http://kvnf.org How I Stopped Drinking http://kvnf.org/post/how-i-stopped-drinking We hear some words of wisdom about how one Latina stopped drinking, using faith and the support of Alcoholics Anonymous. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 28673 at http://kvnf.org When a Friend is an Alcoholic http://kvnf.org/post/when-friend-alcoholic Sometimes, alcoholism hits a bit too close to home. Maria Hinojosa talks with journalist Rose Arce about the cruelly ironic death of their friend Elaine Rivera. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 28674 at http://kvnf.org Deena & Jay http://kvnf.org/post/deena-jay Deena struggled with depression without treatment ever since she was a young girl. When her marriage begins to fall apart, she decides to seek medical help. But not everything goes as planned. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 16:50:00 +0000 editor 28675 at http://kvnf.org Dolores Huerta: A Loyal American Dissenter http://kvnf.org/post/dolores-huerta-loyal-american-dissenter Since the founding of the U.S., loyal dissent has been a patriotic value. Host Maria Hinojosa talks about that value and the origin of "Si se puede," with labor leader Dolores Huerta. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 28331 at http://kvnf.org A Dominican Cyclist in Harlem http://kvnf.org/post/dominican-cyclist-harlem Former cycling champ Edwin Morel tells us why the sport is more expensive than you might think, life lessons he's learned riding a bike and why sports are good for everyone. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 28332 at http://kvnf.org Vamos, USA?! http://kvnf.org/post/vamos-usa The World Cup craze took over the US this summer, especially among soccer-loving Latinos. We took to the streets to ask Latinos what countries they're rooting for this World Cup. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:00 +0000 editor 28333 at http://kvnf.org Sabiduría: Sangre Fuerte http://kvnf.org/post/sabidur-sangre-fuerte Sometimes, if you want to win, you gotta bluff. Latino USA's Senior Editor, Leda Hartman, shares her aunt's story of pretending with a bit of what she calls "sangre fuerte." Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:18:00 +0000 editor 28053 at http://kvnf.org