Revenue-Virginius Mine http://kvnf.org en Ouray County Mine Cited for Nearly 100 Safety Violations http://kvnf.org/post/ouray-county-mine-cited-nearly-100-safety-violations <p><strong>Update Friday, December 20:&nbsp;</strong>According to the&nbsp;<em>Watch&nbsp;</em>newspaper, MSHA says the 97 citations handed out to Star Mine Operations in the first week of December were issued during so-called "spot" inspections, and <a href="http://www.watchnewspapers.com/view/full_story/24266591/article-UPDATE--MSHA-Citations-Stemmed-From-Hazard-Complaints?instance=latest_story">weren't issued as violations that contributed to the deaths</a> of two men at the Revenue-Virginius&nbsp;mine in late November.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 00:50:00 +0000 Travis Bubenik 20057 at http://kvnf.org Ouray County Mine Cited for Nearly 100 Safety Violations KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, December 10, 2013 http://kvnf.org/post/kvnf-regional-newscast-tuesday-december-10-2013 <p></p><p><strong>Headlines</strong></p><ul><li>CPW Researchers Conducting Backcountry Flyovers</li><li>Some Miners Near Ouray Helping with Accident Investigation</li><li>Future of Coal Uncertain as Tennessee Valley Authority Cuts Production</li><li>Three Colorado Cities Facing Lawsuits Over Fracking Bans</li><li>Historic Schoolhouse Spurred Modern Women's Club Tue, 10 Dec 2013 17:28:03 +0000 Travis Bubenik 19638 at http://kvnf.org Details Emerge in Mining Accident http://kvnf.org/post/details-emerge-mining-accident <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px;">The recent mining accident near&nbsp;Ouray&nbsp;was one of the worst in recent Colorado history. Two miners died and nearly two dozen were injured at the&nbsp;Revenue-Virginius&nbsp;mine, owned by Star Mine Operations. &nbsp;More details about what happened are starting to come out. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 19:47:05 +0000 Elise Thatcher 18946 at http://kvnf.org Details Emerge in Mining Accident Supervisor Died Trying to Save Miner from Carbon Monoxide Poisoning http://kvnf.org/post/supervisor-died-trying-save-miner-carbon-monoxide-poisoning <p></p><p>New details are emerging about the two men who were killed after inhaling high levels of carbon monoxide at the Revenue-Virginius Mine in Ouray County.</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 16:25:52 +0000 Travis Bubenik 18799 at http://kvnf.org Supervisor Died Trying to Save Miner from Carbon Monoxide Poisoning 2 Dead, 20 Injured at Silver Mine near Ouray http://kvnf.org/post/2-dead-20-injured-silver-mine-near-ouray <p><strong>Update Monday, 3:50 PM:&nbsp;</strong>Amy Louviere, Spokeswoman for the Mine Safety and Health Administration, tells KVNF all 20 of the sickened miners have been treated and released from area hospitals.&nbsp;</p><p>Colorado US Representative Don Coram (R-Montrose) released a statement this afternoon, saying "I send my thoughts and prayers to the close knit communities of Ouray and surrounding areas and offer my support to those affected by this terrible tragedy."</p> Mon, 18 Nov 2013 01:42:28 +0000 Travis Bubenik 18727 at http://kvnf.org 2 Dead, 20 Injured at Silver Mine near Ouray The Watch Report: 10/5/12 http://kvnf.org/post/watch-report-10512 <p>In this week's report from the Watch Newspaper: Miner in stable condition after accident, Montrose Memorial Hospital acquires new buildings, Hydropower on the Horizon from Ridgway Dam. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 16:52:27 +0000 1225 at http://kvnf.org The Watch Report: 10/5/12