KVNF Local Election Results

On the Western Slope, Republican incumbent Scott Tipton kept his seat with 54 percent of the vote, with Democrat Sal Pace coming up close with 41% of the vote.

Here are the results for the Colorado state house races in our area:

In District 61, Democratic incumbent Millie Hamner kept her seat in a very tight race, getting just 50% of the vote over Republican Debra Irvine, Independent Kathleen Curry, and Libertarian Ellen Temby and American Constitutionalist Robert Petrowsky.

In District 55, Republican incumbent Ray Scott won 58% of the vote, beating out Democrat Dan Robinson and Libertarian Virgil Fenn.

In District 58, Republican incumbent Don Coram has been re-elected with 66% of the vote, over Democrat Tammy Theis  and Libertarian Jeff Downs.

In District 54, Republican Jared Wright won over Libertarian Tim Menger, securing 58% of the vote.

In District 59, Republican incumbent Paul Brown and Democrat Mike McLachlan are closely tied for the seat—with McLachlan edging in front of Brown with 50.6% of the vote.

Unofficial results are in for most counties in the KVNF listening area.
In Delta County, Republican Bruce Hovde took Commissioner District 2 seat unopposed. Republican Mark Roeber beat out Democrat Scott Wilson, taking 73% of the vote. All three local ballot issues—including eliminating term limits on sheriff and coroner—have passed.

In Montrose County, Republican incumbent Ron Henderson beat out Unaffiliated Juli Messenger for the District 1 commissioner seat, garnering 54% of the vote. In District 3, republican incumbent David White got 52% of the vote, narrowly beating out Democrat Kjersten Davis.

In Montrose County ballot issues, the measure 2A extending a 1% sales tax to provide 24 hr emergency medical care in Nucla passed with 78% support. Measure 2B to post bills and statements at town hall instead of publishing them, failed, with only 47 percent of voters approving it.

And measure 3A, a mill levy increasing taxes to match a state BEST grant for schools, failed, only getting 25% approval from voters.

In Ouray County, Democratic incumbent Lynn Padgett edged out a win over Republican Jack Flowers for the District 1 Commissioner seat. In the District 3 Commissioner race, Republican Don Batchelder and Unaffiliated Pat Willits are neck and neck, with Batchelder squeaking out 50.9 % of the vote.

In San Miguel County, Democrat Elaine Fischer has been re-elected to the District 1 Commissioner seat with 81% of the vote. For District 3 Commissioner, incumbent Green candidate Art Goodtimes has won with 48%, in a close race against Democrat Dan Chancellor, who secured 40% of the vote.

San Miguel County's mill levy for schools passed with 75% of the vote.  

In Mesa County, in the District 1 Commissioner race, Republican John Justman beat two unaffiliated candidates with 62% of the vote. In district 2, Republican Rose Pugliese beat out Democratic David Edwards with 66% of the vote.

Ballot issues dealing with dissolving the Central Grand Valley Sanitation District and adding new areas to the Grand River Mosquito Control District passed. But a mill levy for the Plateau Valley School District taxes increase by $350,000, just barely failed. Votes were split 49.1 to 50.9 percent against the measure.

Hinsdale County has not posted their results yet.