KVNF Regional Newscast

Tune in weekdays after Morning Edition and All Things Considered for regional news from KVNF.

KVNF's Patricia Naft, Jake Ryan and Laura Palmisano bring you regional news weekdays at 8 a.m. and 5:50 p.m.

The KVNF news team is always looking for leads. Let us know what's happening in your area, what issues you care about and what you'd like to hear us cover - email us at news@kvnf.org. 

Jake Ryan, Laura Palmisano, Patricia Naft
From left to right, KVNF's news producer Jake Ryan, news director Laura Palmisano, and morning host Patricia Naft in the studio.
Credit Skip Naft

    

Genre: 
Composer ID: 
5182a7a8e1c86a2e61ba3cd9|5182a7a3e1c86a2e61ba3cd1

Pages

NEWS
8:06 am
Mon February 23, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Feb. 23, 2015

  Newscast

  • Arrest made in NAACP bombing case
  • Bill to compensate mineral owners progresses
  • Telluride begs for snow
  • Discussion with Senator Donovan
  • National Heart Month brings attention to heart disease
NEWS
8:05 am
Fri February 20, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Feb. 20, 2015

Newscast

  • New Lawsuits Against Colorado's Marijuana Laws
  • Large Marijuana Grow Operation Found in Montrose
  • Cold Temps, Snow Predicted For Western Slope
  • Voter ID Bills Killed By Democratic-Led Committee
  • Limiting access to Wilderness "hot spots"
NEWS
8:05 am
Thu February 19, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Feb. 19, 2015

  Newscast

  • Mesa County Plans To Sue Feds Over Gunnison Sage Grouse Listing
  • Bill To Help Volunteer Fire Depts. Heads To Governor’s Desk
  • Cyber Bullying Bill Advances At Capitol
  • Obama To Name Browns Canyon As Natl. Monument
  • Connecting the Drops: Water Quality in Eastern Colorado
NEWS
8:08 am
Wed February 18, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015

  Newscast

  • Voter ID laws heard at state capitol
  • Natural restorations coming to Telluride open spaces
  • Lawmakers push to get local food served at schools
  • Survey released about living in the West
  • Carbondale sees first possible murder in 12 years
NEWS
8:03 am
Tue February 17, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2015

  Newscast

  • Rural relief bill heard at capitol
  • Paonia Town Clerk gives letter of intent to sue the town
  • Methane leaks higher than thought, study suggests
  • Capitol conversation about the myriad of issues facing the legislature
NEWS
8:06 am
Mon February 16, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Feb. 16, 2015

  Newscast

  • Volunteer Fire Departments may be eligible for state money if bill passes
  • Pressure system causes warm weather, worry for farmers
  • BLM puts call out for community advisors
  • Bill that would give compensation to owners unable to drill makes progress
NEWS
8:12 am
Fri February 13, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Feb. 13, 2015

  Newscast

  • Republicans Gut Funding for Driver's License Program
  • Colorado Sues Feds Over Gunnison Sage Grouse Listing
  • Parent’s Bill of Rights Initially Passes Senate
  • Mesa County School District Uses Education To Combat Student Drug Use
  • Montrose Health Center Gets $422K To Prevent Youth Drug Use, Abuse
NEWS
8:04 am
Thu February 12, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

Newscast

  • Community voices opposed to Bull Mountain Unit
  • Mesa School District grapples with increase in student drug cases
NEWS
8:07 am
Wed February 11, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015

  Newscast

  • BLM releases review of public comments over Thompson Divide drilling
  • Ophir aims to bring in high speed internet with US grant
  • Colorado schools struggle to talk about marijuana with students
NEWS
8:11 am
Tue February 10, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2015

  Newscast

  • Open enrollment for health insurance ends soon
  • The health of Colorado kids lag behinds nation, adults
  • Figures show rise in student drug use during first year of recreation marijuana
  • Paonia facing even more cuts to balance the budget
NEWS
8:00 am
Mon February 9, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Feb. 9, 2015

  Newscast

  • Paonia explains charges for dismissal against town clerk
  • Telluride ski patrollers vote on unionizing
  • Grand Junction to vote on internet, parkway
  • SMPA upgrades West End, foresees outages
  • Colorado Housing and Finance Authority has new grant for first time home buyers
  • Colorado House hears testimony on ‘Death with Dignity’ bill
  • Vaccination rates have Colorado health officials concerned
NEWS
8:03 am
Fri February 6, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Feb. 6, 2015

  Newscast

  • Teen pregnancy bill proposed in state legislature
  • S and P settles with Colorado for 21 million dollars
  • Rural aid bill killed in committee
  • Snowpack looks thin for this year
  • Horse disease cleared from Colorado
NEWS
8:04 am
Thu February 5, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Feb. 5, 2015

  Newscast

  • Bills at state capitol look to incentivize energy savings
  • SMPA to give incentives for energy efficiency
  • Hickenlooper voices support for Colorado military base
  • Health effects of marijuana weighed in Colorado
  • Arrests in Mesa County
NEWS
8:05 am
Wed February 4, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

  Newscast

  • Paonia looking at the legality of firing a appointed official
  • St. Vincent in Leadville looks like it will remain open
  • City of Delta discussing ban on hash oil production, possession
  • Winter Celebration draws ice anglers out into the cold
NEWS
8:04 am
Tue February 3, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Feb. 3, 2015

  Newcast

  • Arrests made in Hays Drug Store break-in
  • Local ice climbing guide dies in fall
  • State looks at marijuana’s negative effects
  • Bill at state capitol looks to protect victims of sexual assault
  • Capitol Conversation on physician assisted suicide
NEWS
8:06 am
Mon February 2, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Feb. 2, 2015

  Newscast

  • San Miguel Sheriff requests detox facility in new medical center
  • Changes to big game hunting rules
  • 13-year-old dies in Mesa County ATV accident
  • Colorado bill would fund successful birth control program
  • Data released over marijuana DUI arrests
  • Oil and gas task force  meets today
  • Colorado National Monument superintendent to move to park in Utah
NEWS
8:05 am
Fri January 30, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Jan. 30, 2015

  Newscast

  • DMEA grapples with Tri State over local production
  • Bill requiring background checks for youth sports fails at the Capitol
  • Health authorities raise awareness of radon dangers
NEWS
8:03 am
Thu January 29, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Jan. 29, 2015

Newscast

  • Emergency flu shelter for homeless to open in Mesa County
  • DMEA builds business plan for fiber optic internet
  • Ouray hot spring pool gets renovation
  • Government may change way it charges for natural resources
NEWS
8:04 am
Wed January 28, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015

  Newscast

  • Bill put forward to approve assisted suicide
  • Bull Mountain EIS comment period extended
  • Dry winter brings warm temps
  • A look ahead for farmers in 2015
  • Employment numbers for December show gains for Colorado, Western Slope 
NEWS
8:05 am
Tue January 27, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2015

  Newscast

  • Olathe student dies skiing
  • CMU student falls out of window, dies
  • Legislature considers banning powdered alcohol
  • Delta County sees increasing use of social services
  • Capitol Conversation about the new power dynamic in Denver
NEWS
8:05 am
Mon January 26, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Jan. 26, 2015

  Newscast

  • Flu virus hits Mesa county, jail
  • ATV’s to be OK on roads in and near Nucla
  • Break In At Paonia Pharmacy 
  • Grand Junction sees rising costs for 911 call center
  • Politicians spar over driver’s licenses
  • EPA visits X Games to talk climate change
NEWS
8:33 am
Fri January 23, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Jan. 23, 2015

  Newscast

  • Republicans stop bill that would clear up conflicts with gay marriage laws
  • X Games begin in Aspen
  • Ski resorts have strong season so far
NEWS
8:15 am
Thu January 22, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Jan. 23, 2015

  Newscast

  • Both sides sue over Gunnison Sage Grouse
  • Charter school appeals to the state
  • Paonia faces more repairs for water system
  • Telluride saves tax money with bond sales
  • Lynx survey underway
  • Lawmakers look to alleviate testing in schools
NEWS
8:03 am
Wed January 21, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015

  Newscast

  • Oil and gas development in Gunnison National Forest put on hold
  • Compensation for mineral right’s owners a political issue
  • Montrose VA clinic gets a new home
  • Sherbino Theatre in Ridgway turns 100 this year
NEWS
8:05 am
Tue January 20, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2015

  Newscast

  • First pot shop in DeBeque opens
  • Police chase car in Grand Junction, suspects escape
  • Bill in state senate will try to help rural communities during hard times
  • Capitol Conversation about Hickenlooper’s new term
  • BLM officially revokes leases on Roan Plateau
NEWS
8:04 am
Mon January 19, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Monday, Jan.19, 2015

  Newcast

  • Environmental Impact Statement released for proposed drilling sites north of Paonia
  • Oil and Gas Task Force finishes two day meeting in Greeley
  • Numbers reveal a disparity in the growth of Colorado schools
  • An interview with Gov. Hickenlooper about his speech and the coming term
NEWS
8:04 am
Fri January 16, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Friday, Jan. 16, 2015

  Newscast

  • Ice Climbing Draws Thousands To Ouray
  • Denver patient tests negative for Ebola again
  • Gov. Hickenlooper gives state of state address
  • Bill proposes compensation for land owners prohibited from drilling
  • Grand Junction tutoring program gets grant
NEWS
8:04 am
Thu January 15, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Thursday, Jan. 15, 2015

  Newscast

  • High amount of oil spills reported for Colorado
  • Mesa County makes official records more available
  • Gov. Hickenlooper gives his address this morning
  • A look at the legal grey area surrounding hemp
NEWS
6:23 am
Wed January 14, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015

  Newscast

  • Food and Farm Forum happened last weekend
  • Denver patient tests negative for Ebola
  • North Fork Valley gets three new Parks and Wildlife officers
  • Gov. Hickenlooper sworn into office
NEWS
8:12 am
Tue January 13, 2015

KVNF Regional Newscast: Tuesday, Jan. 13, 2015

Editor's Note: The ice climbing instructor interviewed at the Ouray Ice Festival is Mark Miller. In this newscast we referred to him as Mike Miller. Our apologies to Mark. 

  Newscast

  • 20th annual Ouray Ice Festival happened last weekend
  • Patient in Denver hospital tested for Ebola
  • Capitol Conversation discussion over new session, new bills
  • Telluride on track for emission goals

Pages