Album Reviews

Album Review
2:57 pm
Fri November 9, 2012

Sugar Blue // Raw Sugar

Artist Sugar Blue's album

Released 09/13/2012 Beeble Records

Sugar Blue has done it again with his live 2-CD release “Raw Sugar.” One of the most striking tunes is an updated “Miss You.” Striking as in “it will flat blow you away.”

Read more
MUSIC
2:29 pm
Tue October 23, 2012

Menahan Street Band // The Crossing

Menehan Street Band The Crossing

Released 10.15.12 Daptone Records

The Menahan Street Band is one of a crew of performers -- Sharon Jones, The Budos Band, Antibalas, Sugarman 3 to name a few -- who record on the Daptone Label out of Brooklyn. The Daptone artists as well as a bunch of other musicians are leading the Nu-Soul movement. 

Read more
MUSIC
11:07 am
Tue October 23, 2012

Jamey Johnson & Guest Artists // Living For The Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran

Released 10.23.12 Mercury Nashville

Tribute albums are a dicey thing and usually don’t work. “Beat the Retreat” (tribute to Richard Thompson) & “Timeless: A Tribute to Hank Williams” come to mind as ones that really work. This one is equally well done.

Read more
MUSIC
2:26 pm
Fri October 19, 2012

Sufjan Stevens // Silver & Gold: Songs for Christmas, Vols. 6-10

Released 11.13.12 Asthmatic Kitty

Mark it down, guys: October 19th, the day KVNF started getting in Christmas albums. Not to worry, the airwaves won't be jingling for at least another month, I imagine. But with NPR's piece, New Holiday Songs: A Smart Career Move, we can ponder just why it is so attractive for every man, woman and child with access to a mic (read: every man, woman, and child) to record a bit of their own xmas cheer.

Read more
MUSIC
12:14 pm
Mon October 15, 2012

Ty Segal // Twins

Released 10.9.12  Drag City

 

In the malevolence of Ty Segall's 2012 album onslaught (this is #4 if you include his tasty, old-time-high-fi collaboration with White Fence), Twins is the most organized- like a less-severe natural disaster. As the cover depicts, we're still in for a mind-bend, but it's as if some of the sheer fuzz was combed & suited by NASA in preparation for a space launch.

-DJ Jurassica

MUSIC
4:27 pm
Sat October 13, 2012

Frankenweenie Unleashed! // Various Artist

Released 10.5.12 Walt Disney Records

Danny Elfman does an indie-pop packed soundtrack for the black and white stop motion remake by Tim Burton of his 1984 short film by the same name. It's cute and expected, but with a few tracks not to miss.

Read more
MUSIC
1:19 pm
Thu October 4, 2012

Van Morrison // Born to Sing: No Plan B

 Released 10.9.12 Blue Note

If I were a fire hydrant I would need to be turned off. I am gushing like one over this album. This is some of the best stuff Van has done in a while. Back on the Blue Note label he does Jazz, Blues, his own soul and sometimes all of them all together. I dare you to find a cut you don’t like!

Read more
MUSIC
3:58 pm
Sun September 9, 2012

The XX // Coexist

9.10.12 Young Turks

If you haven’t heard The xx before, their unique sound is hard to describe, but it's irresistible. (I still regularly turn to their first record from 2009 for everything from road trips to cooking music.) The music is soft, and although the vocals are lovely centerpieces, they also somehow fade into the songs. Chord arrangements are simple but combine to make beautiful tracks.

Read more
MUSIC
3:17 pm
Sat September 8, 2012

Bob Dylan // Tempest

Released 9.11.12 Columbia Records

Not many artists stay sharp, relevant, and great into their 70’s and later (Picasso, Neil Young, Vladimir Horowitz, et al., come to mind), I have no problem including Bob, at 71, in this elite group. If you are a Dylan fan and don’t have this record you must run, not walk, to your computer and order it.

Read more
Album Reviews
3:47 pm
Wed July 25, 2012

Sonny & The Sunsets // Longtime Companion

Released 7.31.12 Polyvinyl

Sonny Smith recorded a country album after a breakup...When our tummies settle from the chuckle that incites, two things become clear:

  1. The drive to use steel guitar in the midst of pain must be innate
  2. A twang suits Sonny pretty well.
Read more

Pages