Bente Birkeland http://kvnf.org en Personhood's Third Attempt Seeps Into Colorado's Close Senate Race http://kvnf.org/post/personhoods-third-attempt-seeps-colorados-close-senate-race Colorado voters will once again decide on an amendment that would give unborn babies the same constitutional and legal rights as a person. The measure is bringing out some familiar faces – it’s also impacting one of the closest U.S. Senate races in the country.<p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:47:50 +0000 Bente Birkeland 29358 at http://kvnf.org Personhood's Third Attempt Seeps Into Colorado's Close Senate Race Stumping For Beauprez, Christie Stands Firm On Colorado Pot http://kvnf.org/post/stumping-beauprez-christie-stands-firm-colorado-pot While campaigning for Republican gubernatorial candidate Bob Beauprez, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie refused to back down from his <a href="http://www.politico.com/story/2014/04/chris-christie-marijuana-colorado-pot-105888.html" target="_blank">comments made earlier in 2014</a>, criticizing Colorado’s quality of life after legalizing recreational marijuana.<p>“We’ve got to stop in public life worrying about making everybody happy and faking it, like we’re going to agree all the time,” said Christie.<p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 21:56:12 +0000 Bente Birkeland 29257 at http://kvnf.org Stumping For Beauprez, Christie Stands Firm On Colorado Pot Hickenlooper Nixes Special Session, Oil And Gas Battle Moves To The Ballot http://kvnf.org/post/hickenlooper-nixes-special-session-oil-and-gas-battle-moves-ballot Governor John Hickenlooper has formally pulled the plug on the possibility of a special legislation session to consider stricter rules for the oil and gas industry. Hickenlooper said there weren't enough stakeholders on board for a bipartisan solution.<p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 18:25:28 +0000 Bente Birkeland 28950 at http://kvnf.org Hickenlooper Nixes Special Session, Oil And Gas Battle Moves To The Ballot One Point Of Contention In The Colorado Gov's Race? The Economy http://kvnf.org/post/one-point-contention-colorado-govs-race-economy Colorado’s economy and job growth are already shaping up to play a central role in the November gubernatorial race. Both candidates are using their own figures to assess how the state is faring as it recovers from the recession.<p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 00:13:34 +0000 Bente Birkeland 28065 at http://kvnf.org One Point Of Contention In The Colorado Gov's Race? The Economy Primary Aside, Beauprez Focuses On Key Issues, Hickenlooper http://kvnf.org/post/primary-aside-beauprez-focuses-key-issues-hickenlooper Fresh off a primary victory where he bested former Congressman Tom Tancredo, Secretary of State Scott Gessler, and former state senate minority leader Mike Kopp, Bob Beauprez discussed some of the key issues in the upcoming governors campaign: from energy and the environment to guns and capital punishment.<p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 22:19:21 +0000 Bente Birkeland 28017 at http://kvnf.org Primary Aside, Beauprez Focuses On Key Issues, Hickenlooper Beauprez Gets GOP Nod, Will Face Hickenlooper In Governors Race http://kvnf.org/post/beauprez-gets-gop-nod-will-face-hickenlooper-governors-race The race to be Colorado’s next Governor is officially underway. Former Congressman Bob Beauprez will challenge Governor John Hickenlooper in November after winning a four way GOP primary race. Beauprez captured a four-point lead over his closest challenger, Tom Tancredo.<p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 04:24:59 +0000 Bente Birkeland 27890 at http://kvnf.org Beauprez Gets GOP Nod, Will Face Hickenlooper In Governors Race A Primary Eve Look At Two Of Colorado's GOP Races http://kvnf.org/post/primary-eve-look-two-colorados-gop-races Colorado’s primary election is Tuesday June 24, and in many ways it marks the beginning of the political season that will culminate in November. Two GOP primary races are being closely watched.<p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 20:30:21 +0000 Bente Birkeland 27812 at http://kvnf.org A Primary Eve Look At Two Of Colorado's GOP Races Will The 'War On Rural Colorado' Play At The Ballot Box? http://kvnf.org/post/will-war-rural-colorado-play-ballot-box There’s often a divide between Colorado’s rural lawmakers and those representing larger communities along the urban Front Range. That dynamic was apparent during the 2014 legislative session with Republicans routinely blaming Democrats for waging what they said is a "war on rural Colorado."<p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:53:40 +0000 Bente Birkeland 27718 at http://kvnf.org Will The 'War On Rural Colorado' Play At The Ballot Box? Hickenlooper Trying To Rally Support For Oil And Gas Compromise, Special Session http://kvnf.org/post/hickenlooper-trying-rally-support-oil-and-gas-compromise-special-session Governor John Hickenlooper’s office said he’s still in discussions about whether to call lawmakers back to the state capitol for a special session on oil and gas issues. The goal would be to pass a compromise bill and avoid a fight at the ballot box.<p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 23:56:57 +0000 Bente Birkeland 27403 at http://kvnf.org Hickenlooper Trying To Rally Support For Oil And Gas Compromise, Special Session GOP 4th Congressional Candidates Spar In Advance Of June Primary http://kvnf.org/post/gop-4th-congressional-candidates-spar-advance-june-primary Four candidates are vying for the Republican Party’s nomination in Colorado’s 4th Congressional District after U.S. Representative <a href="http://kunc.org/post/colorado-republicans-reshuffle-advance-midterm-elections">Cory Gardner’s surprise decision to run for the U.S. Senate</a> against Democratic Senator Mark Udall.<p>CBS 4 and Colorado Public Television recently hosted a debate with the four GOP candidates competing in the conservative and vast district that stretches from Wyoming all the way to New Mexico and the Kansas border.<p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 22:24:07 +0000 Bente Birkeland 27285 at http://kvnf.org GOP 4th Congressional Candidates Spar In Advance Of June Primary